Crime and Punishment

I wanted to take a stab at the classics. Dostoesvky’s Crime and Punishment was the first victim. And boy, was it a hard book to slay. It took me two months to finish. Reading the book was a chore – the sentences kilometric, the characters employing various names, and some events a bit melodramatic for my taste.

I don’t get it why its been heralded as one of the greatest book of all time. I do get the story about a man who murders a woman, who thinks his actions ought to not be condoned, who thinks his sins can be atoned if he can do good with the booty he gets from the robbery. The main protagonist insists that the end justifies the means.

I should get someone to explain to me the greatness of the book. Or scout the Internet for scholarly articles and reviews. Its greatness, as other classics, must lie not on its prose but on how he creates a written world that depicts the social milieu during that time.

And the description of the protagonist’s stream of thought and of paranoia of the guilty is something that I think is uniquely Dostoevsky.

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crime and Punishment

  1. Lawstude says:

    i know a thing or two about the title put singly but collectively, i might not be the right person to say something šŸ™‚

    tara na sa maguindanao šŸ™‚

  2. The same way I want to understand why The Unbearable Lightness of Being is celebrated.

  3. raft3r says:

    nakaw
    required reading yan si mokong noong college
    dinugo ako
    hehe

  4. ewok1993 says:

    I’m ashamed to say that I have never read a classic. I don’t know why I get turned off. Maybe the print is too small, or the font is not the one I like. But I did promise myself that I’d tackle one soon, not this book though. Maybe Moby Dick šŸ™‚

Leave a comment