Those Damned Cells

My lola is 95 yrs old. She’s frail now and needs a walker to move from one place to another. She sometimes forgets names and her mind would wander to her earlier years, when the last century was still a couple of decade young.

I used to pray that if ever our Maker decides to call her back to His Kingdom, it would be quick and painless and peaceful. I’m not sure my prayers were heard.

You see, samples taken from her breast a couple of weeks back were found to be malignant. Cancerous. My doctor friend told me the lab test results don’t look good.

The news immensely saddens me. I don’t fear life’s end for her. I fear the pain this sickness would bring her. I fear the emotional stress this would bring to the family, less than a year after a cousin was diagnosed with breast cancer.

I go out and smile and laugh and have fun. There are moments though, maybe in the middle of a laugh, that I get this feeling that there is something amiss. My spirit tumble. I get terror-stricken. My heart bleeds.

I ask, Bakit siya pa? But I will remember. God has a plan. He always has a plan.

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Those Damned Cells

  1. Atticus says:

    i don’t know what to say. *hug*
    talk to her

  2. Ewok says:

    Hugs to you too. Speechless. Will pray.

  3. raft3r says:

    i will pray for your lola’s good health
    lolas are the greatest in my book

Leave a Reply

