Favorite Trips of 2010: Part 1

chasing the light in gumasa

12. Gumasa. Flickr pictures of Gumasa got me excited to visit the place. It turned out the most exciting part of the trip was the habal-habal ride. We arrived at twilight when the waters were no longer blue and the setting sun hid behind dark clouds. It was disappointing to say the least.

one of the more impressive chambers of Callao Cave

11. Callao Cave. To be honest, I wasn’t really impressed by the cave. Yes, it was big and dark and a chapel sat in the middle but that is all what it offers. I did wonder how those scientists found the bone that made news a few months back.

a taste of Batanes in Palaui Island

10. Palaui Island. 30 minutes away by boat from Sta. Ana, Cagayan – the northernmost tip of Luzon. The waves were huge when we rode the seas to this island where a lighthouse rests on top of a hill. It was worth it though. We had the island almost to ourselves.

one of apo island's many wonders

9. Apo Island. Located a few minutes by boat from Zamboanguita, a sleepy town less than an hour away from Dumaguete. The corals and fishes here were awesome. What made it more awesome was swimming face down in the waters staring at a huge pawikan as it fed on grass (or moss?).

Bais' Disappearing Island

8. Bais Sand Bar. This was my first out-of-town trip with cousins. We had a blast. The sandbar in the middle of the sea and cottages on tilts were a bonus. Panira lang ang busted tire on the way home.

Session Road slowly waking up

7. Baguio City. This city didn’t charm me on my first visit in 2006. It finally did on a weekend getaway with the epaktors early this year. I even entertained the idea of relocating here in June. It didn’t pan out. I’m a big city boy.

—–
To be continued…

This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Favorite Trips of 2010: Part 1

  1. Andy says:

    pasama naman sa susunod mong lakad! 😀

  2. gillboard says:

    Palaui Island looks breathtaking!!!

    Saya naman ng mga travels mo… kainggit.

    Merry Christmas!!!

  3. raft3r says:

    i love baguio
    lalo na yun sm don
    hehe

    merry christmas, scud!!!

  4. WCS Minor Circuit says:

    Aw, I’m a little jealous that you’ve been able to go to such amazing places. The pictures you’ve taken are excellent by the way. What camera are you using?

  5. Mukang okay yung Apo Island! I hope I get to visit that place one of these days. My mom is from Dumaguete! 😀

  6. Skron says:

    Ganda ng pics, ah. I especially love that Apo Island. Looks good.

    I want to say I want to go to these places. But I don’t have any wanderlust at all, man. Me and travel, we don’t see eye to eye. The only place I want to trek upon is probably Japan. Go shop at Akihabara and then Kumamoto Prefecture to visit the grave of Musashi.

Leave a comment