Paperwhite

For the longest time I’ve wanted an ebook reader of my own. I’ve read ebooks on desktops, laptops, and smartphones but it wasn’t an easy-on-the-eye experience. It puts too much strain on the eyes I was unable to read straight for an hour.

Then came the Amazon Kindle. At first glance, or thought, the device is perfect for book lovers. But it had one caveat. I could not use it in places with poor lighting particularly in bed while waiting for sleep’s nightly visit. So I held off getting myself one and continued hoarding books that I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to read in this lifetime.

In a stroke of ingenuity, Amazon churned out the Amazon Kindle Paperwhite similar to Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight. It’s exactly what I have been waiting for. A Kindle that has an internal light which I can use with the lights off. I could not let this pass and bought one from an online seller.

This new toy is a joy. It fits perfectly on my puny little hands. Transferring mobi files, the format compatible with the Kindle, from any computer – Mac or Windows, is a breeze. A simple drag and drop and you’re done. I’m not sure if previous iterations of the Kindle had this function but I’m digging the internal dictionary. Press lightly on a word until it’s highlighted then release and the meaning pops out. Click the screen and it disappears. Really neat.

So to all book lovers out there thinking of a toy to gift yourself this Christmas, the Kindle Paperwhite is it. Be prepared to shell out a few thousand pesos but you get your money’s worth and more in the long run. I’ve read JK Rowling’s underwhelming The Casual Vacancy and almost done with David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas which kind of grows on you as you tread through the chapters.

Go buy one!

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Paperwhite

  1. I want one! How much did you pay for it?

  2. Kevin says:

    Medyo bet ko ang e-readers dahil pwedeng lakihan ang font, perfect sa FX na matagtag. Pero magtiyaga muna ako sa screen ng iPod touch ko!

    At syempre, iba pa rin talaga ang libro sa Booksale.

  3. Atticus says:

    the best ang kindle. i read more books this year the first few months pa lang because of my kindle. it’s the best. plus the demand on physical space is gone. otherwise, tambak na naman ako ng libro at kailangan na naman ng bookshelf.

  4. Dorm Boy says:

    Makahanap nga rin nyan dito. =) Sana meron. =)

  5. My brother told me to switch to digital books, ang dami ko na kasing libro dito sa bahay, wala na kaming mapaglagyan, hehe. Sabi ko iba pa rin kasi yung librong nahahawakan as opposed to virtual. Yun nga lang, sobrang space consuming. Puno na kwarto ko. ;P

Leave a Reply

