Resolutions

I don’t usually make new year resolutions. I tend to break the promise a few weeks into the new year. The last time I upholded one was way back in college when I vowed to hear mass each Sunday and holy day of obligation for a year. I was committed to it that, one time, I commuted for more than half-an-hour to catch the last scheduled mass for the Sunday.

That’s how I commit to someone or something or to an obligation. But that’s another story, something I might put into words when inspiration strikes. For now, let me share some of my resolutions which I will commit to not only for this year but going forward.

1. Save more. Spend less. The reason: I badly want to get a place of my own where I could invite friends over without asking permission from the housemate if it was fine with them. I would need a few hundred thousands of pesos for a downpayment and I don’t have that wads of cash with me now.

2. Learn photography. I own a DSLR for almost 2 years now and I still could not differentiate aperture from shutter-speed or what f-stop means or how metering affects your photographs. I have taken a few shots that I am proud of, some of which I have posted in this blog, but I still dream of taking jaw-dropping shots like this or this or this.

3. Blog at least once a week. I blogged less last year than the year before that. It was an unintended break. I got busy with my “normal life”, read a lot (20 books!), and marathoned TV shows that I missed (Fringe, Dexter, The X Factor US).

4. Buff up. I now look like a pregnant man and I loathe it. I have taken matters on my own hands – I have started jogging again and will enroll in a gym very soon. I’m not getting any younger so I need to take care of my health. And our 15-year high school reunion is coming up later this year so I need to look fit by then. Wish me luck!

5. Stop multi-tasking. This is a must in my line of work but in my personal life, I should focus on one task at a time. A friend once told me the reason why I have not developed much my photography or writing kills or read more books or watched more movies or saved more moolah or developed a buff body was because I tend to juggle all or most of my hobbies. Sabi nga nila “jack of all trades, master of none”.

Have a memorable 2012, everyone! And if the Mayans are right, see you in the afterlife. Haha. I kid.

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Resolutions

  1. i totally agree with #1 and #2.

    i am hoping you’d be true to #3 because i enjoyed reading your posts.

  2. PM says:

    scud read this for your new year resolutions:

    http://thestir.cafemom.com/love_sex/130883/why_your_new_years_resolution

    it’s the best :mrgreen:

  3. Pingback: The Notebook Book Review: Love Story Or Tragedy? « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  4. raft3r says:

    define normal life
    hehe
    i don’t have one

    happy new year, scud!
    namiss ko dito!!!!

  5. Skron says:

    Hooray for Photography, man. Hope you’d become a better photographer this year. But I bet I’ll beat you 😀

    Happy New Year, Scud. Blog more please!

Leave a Reply

