A Game of Thrones

Loyalty. Politics. Romance. Conspiracy. Incest. Betrayal. Murder. Witchcraft. Sex. All of these make George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones, the first book in a seven-part series, a very good read.

In aGoT we are introduced to the Starks and the Lannisters and the Targaryens. We also get to meet characters we would learn to love and loathe as the story progresses. My favorites from the first book are Jon Stark – the bastard son of the Lord of Winterfell, Arya Stark – the tomboyish younger daughter of the Lord of Winterfell, and Tyrion Lannister – a dwarf and brother to the Queen and probably blessed by Martin with the most classic of lines.

Martin acknowledges at the end of the book that “The devil is in the details… A book this size has a lot of devils, any of which will bite you if you don’t watch out.” Don’t let this deter you from grabbing a copy. The plot is not that confusing although it helps if you have watched HBO’s faithful adaptation of the first book.

And by the way, the paperback edition is 807 pages long with tiny font size and tiny space between lines. It’s a daunting task. I haven’t tried to read that compact of a book since Anne Rice’s latter novels which took me months to finish. I practically spent 3/4 of my long weekend reading but it was so worth it.

This entry was posted in books, Recommended. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Game of Thrones

  1. Jay says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about this book and the series. I will surely read this. 🙂

  2. I have read the whole series and all the books are fantastic. A Dance with Dragons is very compelling and the best out of all of them. I look forward to The Winds of Winter!

  3. Sonia says:

    i have mine on the ipad. seen the series? you should. 10 episodes lang.

  4. sheng says:

    Hmmm,got friends who told me this one’s really good. Makahiram nga sa kanya! Akala ko talaga online game lang to!

  5. Atticus says:

    couldn’t leave the house last weekend because of this. ang galing ng plot. paglaki ko, gagawa ako ng ganitong kuwento. 😀

  6. Skron says:

    This is the saga that ended my love affair with Fantasy. After reading Game of Thrones, Clash of Kings and Storm of Swords, I just couldn’t find any book under the genre that is as satisfying (that is until Name of the Wind came out).

    I’m reading a Feast For Crows now. But I couldn’t follow the story really well. I already forgot what happened in the previous books. So, I may have to re-read them all again.

  7. ewok1993 says:

    The first full season on HBO was amazing. I have to read the books. Trilogy yata ito di ba?

  8. McRICH says:

    hi, i was actually reading your post on gasdud’s contest and i got to click the link of this post right after. am a game of thrones fanatic myself and cant wait for the april 2012 season 2. btw, do you know any ebooks around? hope you can help me coz i havent found any book yet in uae. thanks 🙂

    • the scud says:

      hi there. my apologies for the late reply. to answer your question. yes, i have ebooks of the series. drop a comment on any of my posts with your email address so that i can send the files. don’t worry, your comment won’t get published.

      happy weekend!

  9. McRICH says:

    hi scuds, thanks for the ebooks, appreciate it so 🙂

Leave a Reply

