One Good Thing

The boss from India sent a spreadsheet containing the new team structure sometime in January. I usually don’t pay attention to these types of email. It was too informal and felt very made-up to me. Kind of like the boss had nothing to do one day and decided to create a new team structure just for the heck of it.

I did open the file and saw that I had one person below my name, someone who was more senior than me in terms of length of stay, but I decided not to put too much heft on it. I have heard stories of the guy having an attitude problem, was an asshole, and had a sketchy track record but same as always I brushed it aside. I donโ€™t believe in office talk until it comes from the bossโ€™ mouth.

Then last week, I received surprising news. No, I didnโ€™t get promoted. The title of this post would have been different if that was the case. Haha. The truth is the offshore boss informed me the onshore big boss has been impressed with the quality of work I have been producing for the past couple of years and that I was among the very few among the team who had the potential to lead if and when the team expands.

Those words sounded like music to my ears. It was something I needed to hear following the setback after setback after setback that 2011 has gifted me thus far.

This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to One Good Thing

  1. If it’s not a promotion, then what is it?

  2. ewok1993 says:

    that is a good news indeed. hope there is an expansion this year.

  3. Atticus says:

    uy, your good work is paying off. and the boss noticed. that’s a good thing, indeed.

  4. andy says:

    naks! painom ka naman dyan kung ganun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. gbert says:

    i hope everything will turn out well for you.. if it’s not a promotion yet, then there should be at least an increase.. haha pa-burger ka naman! ako nasa dilemma, i am handling 9 people already and now i am offered with a technical job.. something that does not handle people.. so i am torn..

  6. raft3r says:

    to be commended on a job well done is always a good thing
    =)

  7. len says:

    To be recognized by the boss for a job well done is a good thing. Not all boss are like that.

    Promotion na iyan. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck. :)))

  8. raft3r says:

    bakit hindi ka na active mag-blog, ha?

Leave a Reply

