Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go, that terrific 1995 novel by Kazuo Ishiguro about three friends who grew up together in a boarding school and later learn that they are human clones created to donate their organs, has been adapted into the big screen.

The film is set to be released in the US in mid-September and early buzz is that it is as great as the book where it was adopted from. It stars Carey Mulligan (An Education), Keira Knightley (Pride & Prejudice), and Andrew Garfield (the future Spider-man).

Here are some of the early reviews:

The Daily Mail:
“In certain directorial and thespian hands, Ishiguro’s work could have been turned into mawkish slop. But, with these actors, the film’s a thing of rare beauty. … Never Let Me Go is the most haunting film about love and death I’ve ever seen.”

The Telegraph:
Never Let Me Go is a perfect example of British film at its very best; it’s a sombre piece of work, yet its sheer quality will lift the gloomiest of spirits. … The film, adapted from Kazuo Ishiguro’s novel of the same name, stars three of our brightest young actors – Carey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield and Keira Knightley. All of them are still only in their mid-20s, yet they have a global reputation that is richly deserved. And all of them are outstanding in never Let Me Go. As such, this beautiful looking film is a perfect opener for the LFF, as the festival’s artistic director Sandra Hebron observed yesterday. Describing it as “accomplished and imaginative,” she added: “It combines impeccable film making, outstanding performances and a deeply moving story, and I couldn’t wish for a stronger or more appropriate opening night.” I couldn’t agree more.

You can watch the trailer here.

*****

And by the way, Scott Pilgrim vs The World won’t be released locally. Bummer.

The good thing is that my favorite read from last year, Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood, is now a movie! You can watch the teaser trailer here.

This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Never Let Me Go

  1. prinsesamusang says:

    sounds good 🙂
    i have not watched inception yet – shoot me.

  2. gillboard says:

    WHAT?! di papalabas ang scott pilgrim dito?! why?!!! yun na lang inaabangan kong summer movie… 😦

  3. Speaking of which, kailangan kong basahin muna ‘yang Never Let Me Go bago ko panoorin sa big screen. Hehe. 🙂

  4. gbert says:

    hindi ata kumita ng husto sa US yung Scott kaya hindi na nila ipapalabas dito.. but i’ve seen maganda ung review nya sa rotten tomatoes.. i hope could see that film..

    i remember a movie by scarlett johannsen and ewan mcgregor, the island, which is kind of similar.. clones din but ginagawang babymaker ng mga original .. nakalimutan ko lang exactly yung istorya pero interesting yung movie na un.. i liked the movie by the way..

    with this, dilemma ko lagi, gusto kong mabasa muna ang book kesa unahin ung movie.. pero mukhang maganda ung plot..

  5. ewok1993 says:

    I’ll keep this in mind. I want this type of story line.

    BTW, dito you have a 30 day return policy. Kaya pag nag sale within the 30 days instead of ibalik ng buyer ung purchase nya, the store just give you credit – either they will reimburse the credit card or pag cash transaction naman, they give you store credit.

  6. WCS Minor Circuit says:

    I have been a moderate follower of Ishiguro’s work since I read “The Unconsoled” years ago. I admit I haven’t read “Never Let Me Go”, but it’s on my novel queue. The movie though sounds excellent.

    I’ve been split on what I think about “Norwegian Wood” being made into a film. I’ve read the book so many times that my first copy fell apart and I had to buy another one, and I think the teaser trailer does look pleasant (albeit a bit Wes Anderson-y), but I feel it’d be too easy to mess up. Of course I’ll watch it the first chance I get, though.

  7. Skron says:

    Never really liked the book. The only dystopian fiction I’ve read that I didn’t like. It’s not a bad book. But the pacing was just too slow for me.

    I’m still going to check out the movie though.

  8. raft3r says:

    this looks interesting, ah

Leave a Reply

