Uncle

My nephews and nieces call me Uncle, Tito, Ninong, or Dadad.
In the Visayas where I grew up, uncles are called Tiyo (pronounced tee-yo or cho).
Tiyo is reserved for the elder uncles – those born on or before the 60s.

There’s another term which I think is only endemic from where my father grew up.
Uncles are called Ti.
I would have been called Ti Scud if I was born decades earlier.

Ti is actually short for something.
That something is Titi.
Ti Scud now becomes Titi Scud.

Now imagine relatives talking loudly.
Within hearing distance of Tagalog-speaking Pinoys.
Funny? Hilarious? Embarrassing?

Parang makalibog lang ba?

This entry was posted in misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

