Mr. Bittersweet

I have a new moniker – Mr. Bittersweet. A friend coined it when she found out why I liked Jason Reitman’s ‘Up in the Air’.

My reason? It’s because George Clooney by the film’s end is where he was at the film’s start – alone but with a slightly broken heart.

I guess calling me Mr. BS is just right. I dig sad endings. I dig it when conflicts are not mysteriously resolved. Or when the main protagonist dies. Or when lovers break-up and live separate lives. Most likely when i say a film is great, it almost always does not end happily.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not sick in the mind. I just don’t regard cinema entirely as a medium for entertainment or for escapism. I sometimes think of cinema as art imitating life.

Life is not a bed of roses. Most of the time, if not always, its thorns prick. You snap out of your nirvana and then reality slaps you hard in the face.

Conflicts, deaths, heartbreaks, infidelity. They hide in the unseen future, anticipating, ready to pounce at a moment’s notice. And when they do, life as you know it crumbles.

So, are there depressingly sad movies out there Mr. BS has not yet seen?

This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

