Cinemalaya Cinco: Final Update

4. That’s the number of days I spent at the CCP.

9. That’s the number of full-length films in competition that I watched. 24K was the exception.
10. That’s the number of short films in competition that I watched.
1. That’s the number of films in competition that I watched.
1. That’s the number of bloggers in my blogroll that I saw. Consistent with my personality I did not introduce myself.
4. That’s the number of feature films that I expected to be good and did not disappoint – Dinig Sana Kita, Last Supper No 3, Ang Panggagahasa Kay Fe, and Mangatyanan.
2. That’s the number of feature films that were surprisingly good – Sanglaan and Colorum. The former does not have a great story but boasts of fantastic cinematoraphy and Ina Feleo. The latter is a road movie that brings us from Manila to Bicol to Leyte and back. Alfred Vargas and Lou Veloso are a revelation.
2. That’s the number of films that were not great but were not bad either – Nerseri and Engkwentro.
2. That’s the number of feature films that did disappoint – Astig and Aurora.
6. That’s the number of shorts that were really good. There’s Behind Closed Doors, Hulagpos, Ugat sa Lupa, Si Bok at ang Trumpo, Blogog, and Bonsai.
1. That’s the number of shorts that I could not fathom – Musa. I overheard a few people say the film is great because of its symbolisms. Frankly, I could not find one. Nagmukha akong bobo.

This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

