Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

My friend Sese gave me an offer I can’t refuse. For 100 bucks she was selling 2 tickets for a blocked screening of HP6. It was a steal and I didn’t pass up the the chance.
So a few hours ago I braved the rain, traffic, and an overcrowded MRT to get to SM Megamall. We were made to wait for about half an hour before the movie start but it was worth it.
At a running time of around 2 hours and 30 minutes, the 6th installment of the Harry Potter franchise doesn’t feel like it was that long. 
The first few minutes is a visual treat. Quidditch matches were fun. Gambon (Dumbledore), Broadbent (Slughorn), Bonham Carter (Lestrange), Smith (McGonagall) and the brilliant Rickman (Snape) are enthralling. The budding romance of Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione was hilarious at times. 
If you’re looking for some action like that terrific battle between Dumbledore and Voldemort from HP5 then you would be sorely disappointed. There’s none of that in HP6. No Ralph Fiennes too. But what the film lacked in fight scenes they offset with cornfield (reminds me of The Signs) and lake (reminds me of Star Wars and LOTR) scenes taut with suspense. 
The last 30 minutes of the movie is edgy and dark. Brilliant filmmaking if you ask me. I wish though that the screen faded to black right after the Half-Blood Prince character was revealed. That would have been a stroke of genius. 
*****
A heads-up to Harry Potter purists. I’m not absolutely sure about this though, since I last read the book way back in 2005, but I think the filmmakers changed the ending a bit. I’m not going to spoil what these changes were. Abangan niyo na lang.
Apart from that minor quibble I’m actually now looking forward to the final 2 Harry Potter movies. Yep. You read it right the first time. The producers wanted to milk whatever they could from the franchise and decided to release the final installment in 2 parts. 
Let the countdown begin to November 2010 and July 2011.
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

