Checkmate

I never learned how to play chess. I used to observe family friends play chess during the summer as a kid. I found it boring. I attempted to learn the chess moves but it didn’t register on my brain. I was more interested in other things then.

I did learn how to play dama. When I and my brother play a game it would almost always end up in a fight since I would make up my own rules as the game went on to make me win.

Other board games that I remember playing were Millionaire’s Game, Pictionary, Scrabble, Snakes and Ladders, Games of the Generals. It was always fun although I had to restrain myself from throwing a fit when I was losing. I am a very competitive person and I always want to win.

We didn’t own any of those board games. Except maybe for Snakes and Ladders. A gift I received from a classmate on my 12th birthday.

I started toying with the idea of collecting those board games. I know I won’t be able to use them as often as I would want to but it would be nice to own them as a collection.

So off I went to a toy store. I thought these games costs only a few hundred bucks. I was sorely mistaken. Monopoly costs more than 2k. Pictionary for 1.2k. Scrabble for 900. Expensive.

I ended up not buying one. I still plan to collect those board games. Not now. I’m saving up for a new baby.

Have a great week everyone!

This entry was posted in misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

